I like you, but I don’t like what you say.

“Unfollow.”

You know what I’m talking about. It’s in my opinion the best thing Facebook did for us since they made the horrible mistake (again, in my opinion) of not requiring you to have a .edu email address to sign up: the option to opt-out of someone’s posts.

I realized over the weekend that of my 568 Facebook friends, I have unfollowed approximately 150 of them.

First, I want to discuss why I have chosen to unfollow these people. Most of them are basically because I’m just annoyed. I do not need to see your 500 (I’m not exaggerating) selfies, ESPECIALLY your dumb duckface ones.
I do not want my news feed flooded because you think every. single. picture. that makes you chuckle needs to be shared. I really don’t need the details of your gall-bladder removal surgery (totally not kidding. It was right there on my newsfeed). I am sick of seeing hundreds of pictures of your kid sleeping/eating/pooping and reading about them being sick/teething/crying/sleeping/pooping. I don’t want to hear your racist/bigoted/stereotypical thoughts on the latest event that the media has succeeded in making you believe is the only horrible thing happening in the world. And if I get one more show spoiled because YOU CAN’T BELIEVE JOHN JUST DIED OMGOMGOMG!! I will punch someone.

So why not just unfriend these people instead of unfollowing them? This brings me to my second point. Why don’t I unfriend these people who produce eye rolling at best, and rage at humanity at the worst. Well, because I’m a nice person, and I was born with the horrible curse gift of deeply feeling others’ feelings, and never wanting to hurt anyone. I don’t want anyone to KNOW they bother me. I legitimately don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings by unfriending them. So I can just unfollow them and remove the drama from my life.

Now here’s where it gets to be too much. I am saddened to admit that society is chock-full of idiots. I’m talking complete imbeciles. Sometimes I see so much stupidity that I want to scream, or choke someone. Ignoring the stupidity definitely doesn’t make it go away, but I have no idea how to fix this problem. I’ve got lots of ideas for solutions to stupidity, but few of them are realistic, let alone legal. Getting into battles with these people online certainly doesn’t make them smarter. If anything, it makes me feel more dumb. That being said, the best course of action for me is to unfollow them, and if it’s something bad enough that I feel I really can’t be friends with a person with those thoughts/actions/etc., then I unfriend them. Though it rarely gets to that point.

What about you? What are your thoughts on unfollowing vs unfriending? Or are all of your friends awesome enough that you don’t have to hide their posts? Should I just be more picky when adding/accepting people? Give me your feedback in the comments!

Leave a Reply

